Full List Of All Universities In Niger State (2024)

This article is a complete list of all universities in Niger State currently in this year 2024. Niger State, dubbed “The Power State”, according to its slogan, is one of Nigeria’s most important States, as it is home to multiple dams and hydropower stations vital to the country’s electricity supply. Niger State is also Nigeria’s largest State, as detailed in our post on the top 10 largest States by land area in Nigeria.

Full List Of All Universities In Niger State

This State, which is located in Nigeria’s North-Central geopolitical zone, is a developing one in terms of university education, with only three universities in the State: one owned by the Federal Government of Nigeria, another operated by the Niger State Government, and the third a private university. The following are the universities:

  • Federal University of Technology, Minna (FUTMINNA) – Federal University
  • Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University (IBBU), Lapai – State University
  • Edusoko University, Bida, Niger State – Private University.

We shall discuss these universities in detail below. Kindly continue reading to learn more.


A full list of all universities in Niger State this 2024, whether federal, State, or private, is provided below:


The Federal University of Technology, Minna (FUTMINNA), one of the top technology universities in Nigeria, is a university owned by the federal government. It was founded on February 1, 1983. The goal of its creation is to put the nation’s drive for much-needed self-reliance in Science, Engineering, and, especially, Technology into action. It is a technical university with a specialized focus.

The University acquired the facilities of the previous Government Teachers’ College, Bosso, on a permanent basis when it was founded, and it now serves as the University’s Bosso Campus. It has experienced a significant transformation. It has been given a face lift and now has a lovely appearance befitting a modern university. To prepare for the future expansion, the University purchased 10,650 hectares of land in Gidan-Kwano, along the Minna – Kataeregi – Bida Road, as its permanent site.

The vision of the Federal University of Technology, Minna (FUTMINNA) is to become a world class and Nigeria’s leading University recognized for its excellence in capacity building and service delivery, and their mission is to be committed to the training of skilled and innovative work-force that would transform Nigeria’s natural resources into goods and services driven by entrepreneurship and Information and Communication Technology (ICT), to positively affect the economy and thus the quality of life of her people.


Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University Lapai was established in 2005 as a non-profit public higher education school in the Nigerian town of Lapai (population range of 50,000-249,999). Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University Lapai is a co-educational higher education institution that is officially approved and/or recognized by the Nigerian National Universities Commission (NUC). In a variety of fields of study, Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University Lapai offers courses and programmes that lead to officially recognized higher education degrees.


Edusoko University (EU) is the first community-based private university in Nigeria. It is located in Bida, Niger State. It is a vital component of the university education system, as it assists students in easing and improving their lives while also building academic and moral relationships. The idea of this Edusoko University (EUB) started in 2012 but came into fruition in 2021, as it was one of 20 new private universities approved by the National Universities Commission, under the administration of President Muhammadu Buhari.

Ezeh Emmanuella

Ezeh Emmanuella is an information enthusiast and the Editor of Nigerian Search Guide. She loves to answer search queries on everything Nigeria. She is also the brain behind Ellacious Designs, an emerging fashion brand in Nigeria today.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *