List Of Top 10 First Class Kings In Nigeria (2024)

There are several monarchs in our country who are legitimately regarded as first class royalty, but in this list, we have only included the top 10 kings in Nigeria as of this year 2024. These royal fathers, many of whom are among the wealthiest Kings in Nigeria, are descended from ancient monarchs who held political power during pre-colonial times.

List Of Top 10 First Class Kings In Nigeria

As time passed, however, successive colonial and post-colonial governments significantly curtailed these monarchs’ powers; however, they continue to exercise significant influence over the people who are under their leadership and are regarded as stewards of tradition and symbols of unification among their subjects but with the titles they hold today being mainly symbolic.

These first class kings in Nigeria are regarded as the highest reigning and most powerful traditional rulers in Nigeria, particularly in every State of the federation where their stools are domiciled, and they have significant authority over many other kings in their respective States. Their influence, as we have mentioned earlier, stem from the long, rich history that their numerous kingdoms enjoyed while their predecessors were in power. In actuality, Nigeria has numerous monarchs, but not all of them are given the same status. First class kings refer to some traditional rulers who are higher in the social hierarchy than the rest.

The majority of first class kings in the country are revered by the people of their respective tribes, and it is impossible to overstate their influence on customs and some political issues. The top 10 first class monarchs of Nigeria are listed and discussed below.


The following are the top 10 first class kings in Nigeria this 2024:


The Ooni of Ife is the current Oba of the ancient city of Ile-Ife, which is located in modern-day Osun State. He is a first-class king in Nigeria. The Ooni, who is commonly regarded as the most significant and powerful ruler in Yorubaland, is a direct descendant of Oduduwa, the first Ooni of Ife and the progenitor of the Yoruba kings as well as its people. Even though he is no longer as powerful as he was prior to the arrival of the British, Nigeria still values and respects the Ooni of Ife much. He also serves as the Yoruba people’s spiritual guide. Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi Ojaja II is the reigning Ooni of Ife.


The Alaafin of Oyo is a distinguished traditional leader in Nigeria. At its height, the former Oyo Empire reached as far as Dahomey which is today’s Benin Republic, and the Alaafin were very powerful. The Alaafin of Oyo is the current ruler of Oyo town and he is one of Nigeria’s most significant and influential monarchs. In Yorubaland, it is usually believed that the Alaafin of Oyo is the next in rank after the Ooni of Ife. Oba Lamidi Adeyemi III is the Oyo kingdom’s current traditional monarch.


The Obi of Onitsha, a first-class monarch in Nigeria, is the traditional ruler of Onitsha, one of the biggest cities in the the country and a major hub of Anambra State. In the State and across the country, he is a highly regarded king. The Obi of Onitsha is well respected in Igboland and he is perhaps the most well-known and frequently the first to be consulted on matters pertaining to the south-eastern region of Nigeria. His Majesty, Nnaemeka Alfred Ugochukwu Achebe, is the present Obi of Onitsha.


The monarch of Sokoto is known as the Sultan of Sokoto, a first class monarch in Nigeria. He is the spiritual head of all Muslims in Nigeria and is known as the Commander of the Faithful or Leader of the Faithful. He is a direct descendant of Usman Dan Fodio, the first Caliph of the Sokoto Caliphate. In northern Nigeria, the Sultan of Sokoto is the most powerful and prominent traditional leader. He is the president-general of the Nigeria Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs (NSCIA) and the leader of Jama’atu Nasril Islam (Society for the Support of Islam, or JNI). Sultan Alhaju Muhammadu Sa’ad Abubakar IV is the current Sultan of Sokoto.


The Kano Emirate is ruled by the Emir of Kano, another distinguished sovereign from northern Nigeria. He is the second-ranking monarch in northern Nigeria after the Sultan of Sokoto and a major influence there. When the ancient Sultanate of Kano fell under the Sokoto Caliphate’s rule in 1805 as a result of the Fulani Jihad, the Kano Emirate was established. His Royal Highness, Aminu Ado Bayero II, who succeeded his nephew, His Highness, Muhammadu Sanusi II, to the throne on May 9, 2020, is the current Emir of Kano.


The Oba of Benin is a first-class monarch who rules the Benin Kingdom and is in charge of preserving Edo State’s culture and traditions. He serves as the ruler of the illustrious Eweka dynasty of the Benin Empire. On October 20, 2016, Omo N’Oba N’Edo Uku Akpolokpolo Oba Ewuare II became the current Oba of Benin. He is among the most well-liked, effective, and prominent traditional leaders in Nigeria.


The ancient city of Ibadan, which serves as the seat of government for Oyo State, is ruled over by the Olubadan of Ibadan, a first-class monarch in Nigeria. The Olubadan is a ceremonial monarch, like all the other kings previously mentioned. He has no political authority, but he does have sway over his followers, and the State administration consults him on questions of tradition. Oba Moshood Olalekan Ishola Balogun Alli, who succeeded to the throne in 2022, is the current Olubadan of Ibadan.


One of Nigeria’s prominent first class traditional rulers is the Oba of Lagos. Despite the fact that he has no political authority, his influence in Lagos State can be seen even in government. Despite being known as the Oba of Lagos, his authority and domain essentially cover the entirety of Lagos Island, one of the biggest cities in Lagos State. Oba Ridwan Babatunde Osuolale Aremu Akiolu I, who succeeded to the throne in 2003 and is also known as the Eleko of Eko, is the current Oba of Lagos.


Another notable first class traditional ruler on this list is the Dein of Agbor. Before Benin was conquered by the British, Agbor, an ancient kingdom in Delta State, was a part of the Benin Empire. His Royal Majesty Benjamin Ikenchukwu Keagborekuzi I, is the ruler of Agbor Kingdom at the moment. After his father passed away unexpectedly at the age of two years and four months in 1979, he was crowned the Dein of Agbor. He currently serves as the Chancellor of the University of Ilorin.


The Itseriki people of Warri in Delta State are ruled by the Olu of Warri, a first class king in Nigeria. His Majesty, Utieyinoritsesola Emiko, also known by his regnal name Ogiame Atuwatse III, is the current Olu of Warri. He is the son of the late Ogiame Ikenwoli Atuwatse II (the 19th Olu of Warri), King Godwin Toritseju Emiko. On August 21, 2021, he succeeded the late Ikenwoli Godfrey Emiko I as the 21st Olu of Warri. The Olu of Warri is also a member of the Warri Government Council.

Other notable mentions include:

  • Alake of Egbaland
  • Obong of Calabar
  • Asagba of Asaba
  • Tor Tiv
  • Attah of Igala
  • Olugbo of Ugbo Kingdom
  • Etsu Nupe (Traditional Ruler of Bida Emirate)
  • Ovie of Agbon Kingdom.

Ezeh Emmanuella

Ezeh Emmanuella is an information enthusiast and the Editor of Nigerian Search Guide. She loves to answer search queries on everything Nigeria. She is also the brain behind Ellacious Designs, an emerging fashion brand in Nigeria today.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *